Chapel of Scex
Nestled in the cliff's heart at a height of 90 meters above the plain, Notre-Dame du Scex fascinates and attracts. It can be reached by a small path with 484 steps. The present chapel dates from the 17th century, but an earlier chapel probably existed as the end of the 8th century. Albert Chavaz made the stained glass windows in 1959, as well as the altar cloth. Above, in a central niche, there is a marvelous 13th century Virgin and Child statue. Not far from the chapel is located a hermitage. The nearby statue (Roger Gaspoz, 2011) recalls the first hermit, St. Amé, a monk of the abbey who lived there in the 7th century.