Scex Chapel : Guided tour
The path to go to the Chapel is closed from November 1st 2019 to March 15th 2020.
For a guided tour, please contact Miss Aeschlimann : +41 79 236 87 68.
Chapel description :
The chapel of Notre-Dame du Scex is cut into the cliff, 90 metres above the town. This picturesque building sits at the top of some 500 steps carved into the stone. It evokes the hermitage of Saint Amé, a monk from the Abbey, who lived there in the 7th century.
The current chapel dates from the 17th century but was preceded by a series of sanctuaries. Only the most significant of the votive paintings that once decorated the walls have been preserved. Albert Chavaz created the stained-glass windows in 1959, as well as the altar cloth. Above, in a central niche, is a magnificent Virgin with Child from the 13th century.
Not far from the chapel is a hermitage, which is sometimes inhabited by someone seeking God. The nearby statue (Roger Gaspoz, 2011) pays tribute to the first hermit, Saint Amé.